How Much Workers’ Comp Pay Can I Get in Arkansas?
One of the first things to be aware of is that workers’ compensation provides full medical benefits to an injured worker in Arkansas. Can things go wrong? Yes, and this is one of the main reasons to always discuss your case with an experienced workers’ compensation attorney at the Law Office of Jason M. Hatfield.
The employer’s liability typically ceases six months after an injured worker returns or $10,000 has been paid out. Payment amounts and the time a benefit is paid can be extended if the employer chooses to waive their rights or if the Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Commission (AWCC) allows an extension of the benefits.
As most workers in the state know, if you are injured, you must see a doctor on the company’s approved list. After a physician is designated to the injured worker, filing a claim for workers’ compensation can begin.
Here is what you may receive in terms of benefits, depending on the type and severity of your injury:
- Temporary Total Disability (TTD) – You must wait seven days before benefits can start. You get benefits for the first seven if you are out of work for fourteen days. Your wage paid while injured is 66 2/3 percent. The minimum weekly payment is $20. The maximum weekly amount is $835, eighty-five percent of the state’s average weekly wage. The maximum amount of allowed time is 450 weeks. An injured worker will be paid the state average weekly wage, which varies yearly. Currently, for 2023, the state average weekly wage is $981.98.
- Permanent Total Disability (PTD) – The wage paid is 66 2/3 percent, and the weekly minimum is $20. The weekly maximum paid out is $835, which is eighty-five percent of the state’s average weekly wage. The maximum period to receive benefits for this category is for the length of the disability.
- Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) – The injured worker’s wage is 66 2/3 percent, with a weekly minimum of $20 and a weekly maximum of $626. It is worth knowing that non-scheduled injuries have a maximum payment period of 450 weeks. The non-scheduled injury maximum amount is $176,400. When the TTD rate is more than $205.35, the maximum PPD rate is 75 percent of the total disability rate up to the max of $392. If the TTD rate is lower than $205.35, the PPD is determined at 66 2/3 percent of a worker’s average weekly wage to $154.00. After the age of 65, benefits incur a 50 percent offset.
Every case is different regarding injuries, which dictates which category of workers’ compensation a claimant would receive. It is not very clear, and we understand that. We’re here to help answer all your questions, and we’re good at it.
If you want more specific general compensation information, visit here. If you want detailed information about your case and what you may expect when you apply, give us a call today for a free consultation.
Contact the Law Office of Jason M. Hatfield
The Law Office of Jason M. Hatfield, P.A. represents workers’ compensation claims from Northwest Arkansas, including Fort Smith, Rogers, Springdale, Fayetteville, Bentonville, Berryville, and Harrison. Call us today for your free consultation at (479) 361-3575.